Susurrus

2012

Work in progress

4 channel video and sound Installation
Length of the different films: approx. 10 min
Funded by EMARE-Mexico, European Media Art Network (EMAN), Werkleitz Halle, Goethe-Institut Mexiko, European Commission

A project about electric smog and the sculptural beauty of electric towers.
At the center of this installation is a sound that is usually inaudible or almost inaudible. The electromagnetic radiation from power lines – electric smog – surrounds us everywhere in everyday life. It is assumed that this radiation can have effects detrimental to health. Since we cannot perceive it, we repress awareness of its presence. In “Susurrus”, it is made audible in the example of the electromagnetic fields around land-based power lines.
2012 as an artist in residence in Mexico Maria Vedder filmed in different climate zones many landscape panoramas with land-based power lines. The noises of the respective electromagnetic fields were recorded with a self-built antenna on an audio recorder.
In the installation, one landscape is reproduced on one flat screen. Each picture is accompanied by the sounds of its electromagnetic field. Together, the 4 sound frequencies produce an auditory spatial composition. These tones, which suggest danger, contrast with the photographic beauty of the landscapes and the sculptural fascination of the electric towers.

The Latin word “Susurrus” means a rustling, whispering, or murmuring, but also an incongruity or absurdity.

“Susurrus” is part of a global inventory of interventions by the power industry in nature and landscape. After recordings in Germany and Mexico, Malaysia followed in 2013.

Susurrus

2012

4-Kanal Video- und Sound-Installation
Gefördert von EMARE-Mexico, European Media Art Network (EMAN), Werkleitz Halle, Goethe-Institut Mexiko, Europäische Kommission

Ein Projekt über Elektrosmog und die skulpturale Schönheit von Hochspannungsmasten.

Im Mittelpunkt dieser Installation steht ein Klang, der meistens kaum oder nicht hörbar ist. Die elektromagnetischen Strahlen von Stromleitungen, Elektrosmog, umgeben uns überall im Alltag. Von diesen Immissionen wird angenommen, dass sie gesundheitsschädliche Wirkungen haben können. Da wir sie nicht wahrnehmen können, verdrängen wir ihre Anwesenheit. In „Susurrus“ werden sie hörbar gemacht am Beispiel des elektromagnetischen Felds von Überlandstromleitungen.

2012, während eines 2½ Monate langen Aufenthalts als Artist in Residence in Mexiko, hat Maria Vedder in den unterschiedlichen Klimazonen eine Anzahl von Landschaftspanoramen mit Überlandstromleitungen gefilmt. Die Geräusche des jeweiligen elektromagnetischen Felds wurden mit einer selbstgebauten Antenne auf einem Audiorecorder aufgenommen.

In der Installation sind auf 4 Flachbildschirmen Landschaften aus Baja California, Oaxaca und Sant Luis Potosi zu sehen. Jedem Bild ist das Surren des jeweiligen elektromagnetischen Felds zugeordnet. Zusammen ergeben die 4 Tonfrequenzen eine auditive Raumkomposition. Diese Gefahr suggerierenden Töne stehen im Kontrast zur fotografischen Ästhetik der Landschaften mit den konstruktiven Elementen der Strommasten.

Der lateinische Begriff „Susurrus“ bedeutet Sausen, Murmeln, Flüstern, aber auch ungereimt und absurd.

„Susurrus“ ist Teil einer weltweiten Bestandsaufnahme von Eingriffen der Stromindustrie in Natur und Landschaft. Nach Aufnahmen in Deutschland und Mexiko folgen 2013 Malaysia und 2018 Thailand.